This is for eveyone who keeps posting on this board claiming to have found a new LOST Experience site. If your site is not on the list of official sites, or appears on the "Fan Site" section of this list., please do not start a post about it.
This post is going to change gears from just being all fansites to being an all known sites list, both official and unofficial. If you know of any sites not in my list that should be please pm me, if its a fansite if you could provide a brief 'why' I will promise to name my first child after you
Official SitesThese are official Lost Experience websites as of the last update these are the only official/canon websites for the Lost Experience
http://thehansofoundation.orghttp://persephone.thehansofoundation.orghttp://www.sublymonal.com/http://www.djdan.am/http://www.letyourcompassguideyou.com/http://hole2.thehansofoundation.orghttp://www.hansocareers.com/http://www.garytroupbooks.com/http://www.garytroup.net/ Same as garytroupbooks.com, just different url.
http://blogs.abc.com/inside_the_experience/http://www.retreiversofthetruth.com/http://www.richerdeeperbroader.com/http://stophanso.rachelblake.com/http://www.myspace.com/mandrakewighttp://www.valenzettiequation.com/Other official Lost sitesThese are sites that are official Lost sites that are not part of the Lost Experience ARG
http://emri.perception.net Fan operated, but it's a mirror site of the original Hanso Foundation site.
http://oceanicflight815.com/http://www.fly-oceanic.com/ same as above
http://www.oceanic-airlines.com/ same as above
http://www.oceanic-air.com/ An excellent walkthrough of this site may be found
here.Questionable SitesThese are sites that contain official Lost Experience material, but may or may not be an in-game site.
http://www.savejoop.com/FansitesFirst I ask a favor of you, dear reader. Look at this list above, if you have never seen these sites I ask that you go to them. Now compare the quality of those sites to any new site you come across. Does the new site you just found look like it makes sense? Does that Widmore site look like a company website or a giant screaming puzzle? Does that Paik Heavy Industry site look like an official site of a multibillion dollar company or does it look like something left over from the early days of html? Do not take any Lost related website as fact without digging around it a little unless you are lead to it by the Hanso site, your television or a major media publication. This is an industry that is used to spending a small fortune for advertising. So ask more questions about any site you stumble across.
I shall try and update the known fansites list this week, but for now this thread holds all known I believe, so check through it if you don't see it in my post.
Edited 5/1/06 - I decided to add reasons to why I and other think these sites are nothing more than fansites. Most of this is just my reasoning, I shall include links to others thoughts on the subject as I find them.
http://www.valenzettifoundation.org/Reasons: Google ads used in site, questionable whois info, page source states the page was made with AOLpress 2.0 a freeware wysiwyg html editor
http://www.widmorelaboratories.com/Reasons: States plainly on the page "Caution: This is a real site.
If this wasn't a real site you couldn't be here.
This site is also officially unofficial, whatever that means.
If you don't want your mind expanded beyond 27 diagonal inches,
you should leave immediately."
Site also links to the valenzettifoundation.org site with this quote "Proud supplier and business and research partner of
www.valenzettifoundation.orghttp://www.widmore.com/Reasons: Questionable whois info, font used for the Widmore logo is different than the font used on all other Widmore packages and logo we have seen from the show.
http://www.minnesotametallurgy.com/Reasons: Going on a limb for this one but look at the source code, it is a mess, I'm guessing a freeware wysiwyg html editor was used
http://www.thewidmoregroup.com/Reasons: redirects to minnesotametallurgy.com at the moment, thus its part of that person/persons fansite
http://hansogroup.comReasons: redirects to minnesotametallurgy.com at the moment, thus its part of that person/persons fansite
http://thedharmainitiative.org/Reasons: Discussed to death on this forum alone, just do a search for it
http://www.driveshaftband.com/Reasons: Known fansite, just do a search for it
http://www.dharmatel.org/Reasons: Source code contains this address
http://www.lostmysteries.com which is a fansite
The following is a cool one I thought, check out the link to Merrick Biotech on the business page of this fansite for a company claiming to own Oceanic
http://pb-sales.com/businesses.htmFound by MattOG
http://www.4815162342.org.uk/Reason: whois info
http://www.globalparadigmscorp.com/Reason: From lostpedia.com, The site claims that the corporation filed for bankruptcy October 31st 1995. However javascript which is heavily used on the page was first introduced in December 1995 on a BETA release of Netscape.
The site's copyright is from 1995, however the site's non-javascript page suggests to download a mozilla browser from Mozilla.org, a domain which wasn't registered until 1998.
http://www.darmaindustries.com/pages/1/index.htmReason: Dharma spelled wrong :lol:
http://www.hansorg.com/Reason: Source code
http://www.oceanicairlines.com/Reason: Known fansite, google it, thats been around since season 1
http://www.paik-heavy.com/ Reason: Has since been taken down, and replaced with rather interesting blog detailing the process of creating the site, and the rational the creator had behind it.
http://www.squidoo.com/phi-eri Reason: Created as a part of a fake web maze by the creator of paik-heavy.com.
http://www.bigspaceship1.org Reason: Questionable Whois info, questionable code, and misuse of the word "redacted".
http://www.hansoadoptions.org/Reason: Google ads, and whois info registered in Toranto.
http://www.snowglobecollective.com/Reason: Hosted on Google's public server, questionable whois info.